And the Winner of the 2015 Munsey Award Is . . .

Aug 15, 2015 by

Miller with 2015 Munsey AwardStephen T. Miller has been named the winner of the 2015 Munsey Award. Nominated by the general pulp community, Steve was selected through a vote cast by all the living Lamont, Munsey, and Rusty Award winners. The award is a fine art print created by Dan Zimmer of a David Saunders painting, presented annually to a person who has worked for the betterment of the pulp community.

A resident of New Jersey, Steve Miller has been helping to index the magazines for years. Along with Michael Cook, he compiled Garland Publishing’s MYSTERY, DETECTIVE, AND ESPIONAGE FICTION: A CHECKLIST OF FICTION IN U.S. PULP MAGAZINES, 1915-1974, an exceptional resource for collectors of not only detective pulps, but also hero and adventure magazines. With Phil Stephensen-Payne and William G. Contento, Steve revised this classic index, issued on CD-ROM by Locus Press as CRIME, MYSTERY AND GANGSTER FICTION MAGAZINE INDEX, 1915-2010. Also with Bill Contento, Steve compiled SCIENCE FICTION, FANTASY, AND WEIRD FICTION MAGAZINE INDEX, 1890-2008, a guide to more than 900 different magazines, again published on CD-ROM by Locus Press. Additionally, Steve has helped with a great deal pulp-related research, sharing his knowledge as well as his collection with researchers. Congratulations to our 2015 Munsey winner, Stephen T. Miller.

Our other nominees for this year’s Munsey Award included Ron Fortier, Joel Frieman, Chris Kalb, William Lampkin, Laurie Powers, the late Chris Steinbrunner, Mike Taylor, George Vanderburgh, and Dan Zimmer. Congratulations to all of the nominees for this prestigious award, presented annually at PulpFest.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 Munsey and/or Rusty Awards. If you have someone in mind that you feel worthy of either award, please send the person’s name and a brief paragraph describing why you feel that person should be honored to Mike Chomko, 2217 W. Fairview Street, Allentown, PA 18104-6542 or to Previous winners of the Lamont, Munsey, or Rusty Award are not eligible for the award. The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2016. Please click here for additional details. Thanks for your help.

(A limited edition of thirty-six numbered and signed prints (pictured above), designed and painted by artist and pulp enthusiast David Saunders, serves as the Munsey Award.)


Related Posts

Share This