Help Choose the 2018 Munsey Award

Dec 18, 2017 by

Every year, PulpFest recognizes the efforts of those who work to keep the pulps alive for this and future generations. The Munsey Award recognizes an individual or institution that has bettered the pulp community. The award is named after Frank A. Munsey, the man who published the first pulp magazine.

Our 2017 Munsey Award winner was Phil Stephensen-Payne. You can read about Phil by clicking here.

Nominations for the 2018 Munsey Award are now being accepted. All members of the pulp community are welcome to nominate a person or institution for this year’s award. If you’d like to make a nomination for this prestigious award, please send a short explanation concerning your reasons for the nomination to PulpFest marketing and programming director Mike Chomko at You can also reach Mike at 2217 W. Fairview Street, Allentown, PA 18104-6542.

All members of the pulp community — excepting past winners of the MunseyRusty, or Lamont Awards  — are eligible.

The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2018. The recipient of the Munsey Award will be selected through a vote cast by all the living Lamont, Munsey, and Rusty Award winners. The 2018 Munsey Award will be presented on Saturday evening, July 28, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh – Cranberry, the host hotel for PulpFest 2018. The convention will take place over the last weekend in July, beginning on Thursday evening, July 26 and running through Sunday, July 29.

(Pictured above, the Munsey Award was created in 2009 by artist David Saunders, the son of legendary illustrator Norman Saunders. Dan Zimmer of The Illustrated Press and publisher of ILLUSTRATION MAGAZINE produced a limited signed and numbered edition of the award. The PulpFest Committee is indebted to both David and Dan for their generous support of our community.)

Related Posts

Share This