Last Call for Munsey Nominations

Apr 24, 2019 by

PulpFest annually recognizes the efforts of those who work to keep the pulps alive for this and future generations. The Munsey Award is named after the creator of the pulp magazine, Frank A. Munsey. It recognizes an individual or institution that has bettered the pulp community. Past winners have studied and written about the pulps. Others have worked in publishing, as artists, or in convention organizing to preserve and foster interest in pulp magazines.

Anyone is welcome to nominate a deserving individual or organization for the Munsey Award. Please send a brief explanation with your nomination to PulpFest marketing and programming director Mike Chomko. You can reach him at or at 2217 W. Fairview Street, Allentown, PA 18104-6542.

All members of the pulp community, excepting past winners of the MunseyHevelin, or Lamont Awards, are eligible. The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2019.

The recipient of the 2019 Munsey Award will be selected from the nominees through a vote cast by all the living Lamont, Munsey, and Rusty Award winners. The award will be presented on Saturday evening, August 17, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh – Cranberry, the host hotel for PulpFest 2019.

Our 2018 Munsey Award winner was William Lampkin. You can read about Bill by clicking here.

(The Munsey Award was created in 2009 by artist David Saunders, the son of legendary illustrator Norman Saunders. Dan Zimmer of The Illustrated Press and publisher of ILLUSTRATION MAGAZINE has produced a limited edition of thirty-six numbered and signed prints. The PulpFest Committee is indebted to both David and Dan for their generous support of our convention.)

Related Posts

Share This